Reading Public

Someone’s on before me, which is good,
A girl in low cut top, it is a trifle rude,
But then I hear the compere call my name,
I wonder, momentarily, if I should pretend I’m lame,
And limp off home and tell them that I met success,
Though I’d see the legend, LIAR, writ large upon my chest,
So I walk on jelly legs and take the stage,
The audience applauds politely, expectant like an open page,
I clear my throat, begin, my god, I have a voice,
And they’re still sitting in their seats as though by choice,
My poem runs its course, they laugh and modestly applaud,
I stand and take my bow, quite overawed,
And, adrenaline racing through my veins, I say I’m fine,
And put my name upon the list and say I’ll read next time…

Leave a comment

Filed under comic verse, funny poem, humor, humorous verse, humour

Leave a Reply

