The Love Song of Harriet Klausner

Let us go then, you and I,
To where the remnant copies are stacked up tall and high,
Let us discuss those certain much-neglected tomes,
By lonely authors who pick the bones.

And on the site the fangirls come and go,
Gossiping that Robert Pattinson will play Michelangelo.

Oh, I grow weary, I grow weary,
I eye my number one position leery,
Shall I fall a vote behind?
Do I dare to give five stars?
I hear the lower-rankers whispering in bars.

And as if my lonely life is thrown upon the screen,
A jerky Quick Time rendering of my lost and broken dream,
And as I lift the latest book of literary cordon bleu,
The readers call out, Harriet, please give us your view,
And so my tired fingers stroke the keyboard in my darkened room,
It’s done,
I pen another Amazon review to keep me number one.

Leave a comment

Filed under black humour, comic verse, funny poem, humor, humorous verse, humour, literary parody, Nonsense verse, parody, poetry, whimsy

Leave a Reply

