What Rhymes With Onion?

I had a dog, his name was Onion,
He loved to read his Damon Runyon,
But I took him in to Doctor Zunion,
Because he had a painful bunion.

The doctor frowned and took his pulse, he shook his tousled noodle,
“We’ll have to lance the entire paw, it’s a pity he isn’t a poodle!”
He scribbled in doctor’s pad, it was an erstwhile doodle,
Said: “Take him to the theatre, we’ll do the whole schaboodle!”

They wheeled him off, my dearest dog, my friend, my pal, my Onion,
But brought him back an hour on, quite well and sans his bunion,
I brought him chocs and flowers and grapes, a book by Damon Runyon,
And eventually he did remark: “My thanks to Doctor Zunion!”

Leave a comment

Filed under comic verse, funny poem, humorous verse, Nonsense verse, whimsy

Leave a Reply

